Türkçe Español Русский Português Português Italiano Deutsch Ελληνικά Français English 中文 العربية
Home Page Best Practices Service Locations IT Service Management Careers CENTRE Events
IT Services & Solutions
Commercial IT Products Catalog
Customer Successes
Navy One Net
Frequently Asked Questions
Site Map
Microsoft Gold Partner Certification
HP partner medallion for 2017
ForcePoint partner
Smart partner


  You are here: > Frequently Asked Questions

"Enabling our clients with a decisive, high quality, technology advantage..."


Frequently Asked Questions

Q: What is an “Incident”?

A: In the context of the IT Service Management Industry, it is an occurrence of non-conformity within an organization’s IT assets.

Q: What is an “SLA”?

A: Service Level Agreement (SLA), is a component of a services contract and the result of negotiations between the recipient and the provider of the contracted services. An SLA can define and bind the contracting parties with respect to the quality, quantity, frequency, timeliness, availability, and other attributes of service provision.

Q: What is “Best Practices”?

A: A Best Practice is a methodology that is codified, independently verified and validated, and generally and widely accepted as most effective in delivering a desired outcome.

Q: What is “Systems Integration”?

A: Systems Integration is the methodology employed to achieve the connectivity and unification of disparate components into a single system, which delivers a specific solution that could not be provided by any of its subordinate components.

Q: What is “ISO”?

A: ISO was selected by the International Organization for Standardization as a logo in 1947 and is the Greek word for “equal”. The International Organization for Standardization is the world’s largest developer and publisher of International Standards.

Q: What is “CMMI”?

A: CMMI is the acronym for Capability Maturity Model Integration. CMMI contains process improvement methodologies across a wide range of organizational activities, with specific emphasis in Engineering, Development, Acquisition and Services. CMMI is nurtured and promoted by the CMMI Institute. It started with support from the Software Engineering Institute (SEI) at Carnegie Mellon University with funding from the Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA).

Q: What is “ITIL”?

A: The Information Technologies Infrastructure Libraries (ITIL), contain best practices in IT Service Management as defined and developed by the UK Office of Government Commerce (OGC).

Q: What is an ITIL “certification”?

A: At the product level, Pink Elephant is the authorized ITIL organization charged with the verification of compliance of IT Service Management products with the ITIL process areas.

Q: What is a “Quality Management System” (QMS)?

A: In the context of generally accepted international standards, a QMS is a description of compliance with the requirements of a standard, of a process improvement methodology, or a Best Practice. A Quality Management System should be sufficiently self-contained as to be audited by an external/internal resource and should articulate the organizational Input/Output methodologies, as well as the locations or the resultant records.

Q: What is a “CMMI Appraisal”?

A: The standard CMMI Appraisal for Process Improvement (SCAMPI) is a process by which the CMMI maturity level of an organization is established.

Please contact us for any assistance you may need:

Integration Technologies Group, Inc.
2745 Hartland Road
Falls Church, VA 22043
Telephone: 703-698-8282
FAX: 703-698-0305



Press Releases
Media Center
Americans With Disabilites Act
Web Accessibility Section 508
Take a Free 508 Course:
Introduction to Web Accessibility
Get IT Service Support Request Record Status
Create New IT Service Support Request Record